Daniel’s Trader Interview

I am a remote junior trader for The proprietary firm Alphachain capital.

Before joining Alphachain I was a fulltime engineer. Whilst I was doing this, I was trading my own funds in the forex market for 4 years. In 2019 I decided to join Alphachain Academy to improve my knowledge of trading and get experience in a professional environment. In December 2019 I Joined Alphachain as a remote trader, this has helped me understand the lower time frames and helped me gain the confidence to trade and develop my own strategy. I look forward to continuing to improve my trading skills with Alphachain. I anticipate a successful future with Alphachain.

What motivated you to become a funded trader?

I have traded the markets for a few years, although I normally stick to the daily chart with my personal trading. I took this funded trader course to learn a new skill and different types of trading. I wanted to become a funded trader because i really enjoy the financial markets and the fact that every day is different. Many different outlooks and various styles of trading and everyone has an opinion, Although most traders are open for discussion and willing to offer new starters advice.

Why did you apply to Alphachain?

I joined Alphachain because I wanted to get out of ‘retail’ environment and learn from professionals. I have taken many courses in the past but all were very different to this. I studied more the higher time frames and now with Alphachain I am starting to understand the lower timeframes.

What has been your best performing day and why?

Tuesday is my best performing day, I like to use Mondays as a direction day and allow the market to play out beforehand. I find on Mondays I am most relaxed and can see the movements of the market clearly and trade quite aggressive with my entries.

What has been your strengths while managing a funded account?

Risk management is my main strength. I don’t get emotional about winning streaks or losing streaks. My win percentage is not the best but I know that I am still able to maintain my account due to risk management.

What has been your worst performing day and why?

Monday is my worst day; I’m thinking this is because I need to work on my pre-market preparation from the news and events that may have happened over the weekend. Although, I am in tune with the news my economic background isn’t the strongest so sometimes I feel I interpret the data incorrectly.

What has been your weakness while managing a funded account?

At the start of the account, the realization was a little bit of a shock that it was someone else trusting you with their money, although this feeling doesn’t go away fully I understand that to get good results I have to put this aside and focus on executing my strategy.

When do you feel stressed and why?

I feel a little stressed on Mondays but that’s because I’m really not confident with trading Mondays and it is something that I have to work on. I think it feels like a blank page and I am unsure of which way people will be looking to trade an asset; I think this could be where my pre-market analysis on a Sunday could be improved.

What challenges have you faced?

Adapting to working from home, I think trading at this time with coronavirus and increased volatility, adjusting position size. This and other challenges for example family members passing and job loss due to coronavirus makes it difficult to separate the outside stresses when performing on the charts but it’s something that I have got adjusted to dealing with although there is a lot of room for improvement, which is why I say I feel I would thrive better in an office environment with no outside detractions.

Which benefit have you enjoyed the most at Alphachain and why?

I find that the webinars and support from the team is very good. I enjoy the community of traders and the way people discuss different ideas in friendly debate. The platform is very useful for updates and links to useful websites.

What areas will you be looking to improve?

I would like to improve my entry technique so in the future I can improve on my risk to reward ratio. If I have free time I would like to go to uni or take an online course to learn more in-depth about economics and world politics.

Where do you see yourself in a year’s time?

Hitting 4+% a month confidently with minimal drawdown and possibly working in a professional office environment and not from home. I would like to work towards other qualifications in my time trading with Alphachain and learn more about economics.